Français

Nos fromages

"The cheesemaking process"

générique fromage

The cheesemaking process relies on the action of bacteria and rennet on properties in the milk, which transform the latter from its liquid state into a compact mass with a varying degree of solidity.

The process of transforming milk into cheese comprises 3 stages: coagulation, also known as “curdling”, draining and salting, and ageing (or maturing).
Coagulation occurs as a result of acidification, lactic fermentation (for fromage frais) or by the introduction of coagulating enzymes or rennet - or both. The temperature at which the operation is performed varies according to the type of cheese. Once the process is complete, a gel-like substance is obtained.

Draining consists of separating the curds from the whey. Approximately 80% of the curdled milk's water content should be extracted at this stage. Draining is influenced by two factors:

  • biological action: acidification which determines the curds' porosity;
  • mechanical and physical action: a more complex combination of activities including cutting, stirring, heating and pressing. This stage determines the smoothness and firmness of the future cheese. To produce fromage frais, which has an acidic taste, lactic fermentation must be encouraged. After approximately 48 hours at 20°C, ferments develop which create acidity by transforming lactose into lactic acid. This lactic acid demineralises the curds by removing a large proportion of its calcium and therefore its flexibility. This results in what are known as “lactic curds” which have high porosity and which drain slowly and spontaneously.

Hard cheeses, on the other hand, require much faster processing at a much higher temperature (30 to 40°C) and draining is done mechanically. The curds are cut into small cubes using a hand-held tool called a cheese harp. This creates spaces through which the whey can run off. The drained curds are then slowly and gradually mixed and heated, with the combined action of heating and stirring causing them to contract and eliminate the whey. This produces the rennet curd which is then placed in moulds. The cheese is subsequently pressed at varying degrees of pressure depending on the desired level of firmness. The entire production process is performed quickly and is complete in about 2 hours, which means that acidification does not have time to take effect and no demineralisation occurs - the resulting cheese is therefore very supple.
All different types of cheese can be produced by combining these factors to different extents:

  • favouring lactic fermentation results in fromage frais style cheeses which are produced in the smallest of formats;
  • favouring a mechanical process results in hard cheeses which can be produced in much larger formats.

Salting can either be performed on the curd mass, that is by applying the salt directly to the curd grains, at the cheese's surface (dry salting) or by placing the cheeses in a salt bath. This stage helps to form the rind.
With the exception of fromage frais cheeses which are packaged as soon as draining is complete, cheeses must undergo maturing, known as affinage.
The maturation time varies from one cheese to another, ranging from several weeks for a Camembert to several months for a hard cheese. Moreover, different types cheeses mature in different ways: hard cheeses only mature from the inside ,blue cheeses mature from the inside outwards and soft cheeses from the outside in.

 

Some cheeses to discover ...

 

AOP Farm-produced Langres

Langres AOP fermier

Grand Veilleux

Le Grand Veilleux

Bonde de gâtine

La Bonde de gâtine

Natural truffled Brie de Meaux

Brie de Meaux truffé “nature”

AOP Normandy Camembert

Le Camembert de Normandie AOP

Vintage Jura Comté

Comté millésimé d'alpage du Jura

Petite trappe d’Echourgnac

La petite trappe d’Echourgnac des sœurs Trappistines

facebook freres marchand

English

Nos fromages

“La fabrication du fromage”

générique fromage

La fabrication du fromage repose sur l’action de bactéries et de présure sur les composants du lait qui passe de l’état liquide à une masse compacte, plus ou moins solide.

La transformation du lait en fromage s’opère en 3 étapes : la coagulation également appelée “caillage”, l’égouttage puis le salage et l’affinage.

La coagulation s’effectue sous l’effet de l’acidification, une fermentation lactique (pour les fromages frais) ou par apport d’enzymes coagulantes, la présure, ou par les deux, à des températures différentes selon les fromages. La transformation opérée, on obtient une sorte de “gel”.

L’égouttage consiste à séparer le caillé obtenu du “petit lait”, le lactosérum. Il doit permettre d’extraire environ 80 % de l’eau contenue dans le lait caillé. Deux types de facteurs interviennent :

  • une action biologique : l’acidification génératrice de porosité dans le caillé ;
  • une action mécanique et physique plus complexe (découpage, brassage, chauffage et pressage). Cette étape conditionne l’onctuosité et la dureté du futur fromage. Pour obtenir un fromage frais, au goût acidulé, on va favoriser la fermentation lactique : avec le temps (environ 48 heures à 20°C), les ferments se développent, produisent de l’acidité (ils transforment le lactose en acide lactique). Cet acide lactique déminéralise le caillé en lui enlevant une grande partie de son calcium et donc de sa souplesse. On obtient alors un caillé d’une grande porosité qui s’égoutte lentement et spontanément, c’est le “caillé lactique”.

À l’opposé pour obtenir des pâtes dures, on va opérer la transformation plus rapidement et à plus haute température (30 à 40°C) et l’égouttage se fera mécaniquement. Le caillé est découpé en petits cubes au moyen d’un tranche-caillé manipulé manuellement ; on crée ainsi des surfaces par lesquelles le lactosérum, le “petit lait” peut s’échapper. Puis, lentement et progressivement, le caillé égoutté est brassé et chauffé ; il se contracte sous l’effet combiné de la chaleur et du remou et se débarrasse du lactosérum. On obtient le “caillé présure” qui est alors mis en moule. Le pressage effectué ensuite est alors plus ou moins fort selon le degré de dureté de la pâte souhaitée. Tout ce processus de fabrication est rapide, il dure environ 2 heures, si bien que l’acidification n’a pas eu le temps de monter et il n’y a pas eu de déminéralisation, la pâte obtenue est alors très souple.

C’est en combinant ces deux facteurs que l’on obtient toutes sortes de pâtes fromagères :

  • en privilégiant la fermentation lactique on se rapprochera des fromages frais avec des formats de plus en plus petits ;
  • en privilégiant l’aspect mécanique, on se rapprochera des pâtes dures pouvant supporter des formats de plus en plus grands.

Le salage peut être effectué dans la masse (directement sur les gains de caillé), en surface (salage à sec) ou dans un bain de saumure. Il contribue à la formation de la croûte.

Excepté les fromages frais qui sont emballés aussitôt égouttés, les fromages doivent alors subir une maturation appelée affinage.

La durée de l’affinage varie d’un fromage à l’autre, de quelques semaines pour un camembert à plusieurs mois pour une pâte cuite et évolue différemment en fonction du type de pâte : les pâtes pressées ne s’affinent que de l’intérieur, les pâtes persillées de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur et les pâtes molles de l’extérieur vers l’intérieur.

Quelques fromages affinés à découvrir…

 

Beaufort de chalet d’alpage AOP

Beaufort de chalet d’alpage AOP

Comté millésimé d'alpage du Jura

Comté millésimé d'alpage du Jura

La petite trappe d’Echourgnac des sœurs Trappistines

La petite trappe d’Echourgnac des sœurs Trappistines

La Tomme de chèvre au piment d’espelette des Pyrénées

La Tomme de chèvre au piment d’espelette des Pyrénées

Le Poiret de Meuse

Le Poiret de  Meuse

Le Grand Veilleux

Le Grand Veilleux

Le fondille de brebis ariègeois

Le fondille de brebis ariègeois