Français

Tips from a Master Cheesemaker

"The different milk types - raw, pasteurised & micro-filtered."

générique fromage

Raw milk is the essential element of a cheese's character and good quality milk provides the fundamental basis of a good cheese.

Raw milk produce is made at the milk-producing farm or at village level and, for reasons evidently linked to access and collection, is more common in mountain regions than in lowland areas. The milk must be processed within 12 hours of milking. Using raw milk is the only way to capture the genuine essence of the terroir since it expresses the full richness, character and flavour of the pastures which it conveys faithfully in the cheese.

Pasteurised milk is used extensively today for reasons of cost-effectiveness. Milk is collected across entire regions and stored in refrigerated vats at approximately 4°C. Even at this stage, this cooling alters the balance of the flora naturally present in the milk, to the detriment of the lactic flora The milk is then heated to approximately 72°C for 15 seconds which is enough to destroy all of the active microbial flora as well as other special flora which give a cheese the flavour of its terroir. Pasteurisation is thus used in industrial cheesemaking to extend the shelf-life of products. The art of industrial cheesemaking is therefore to artificially revive "dead" milk.

Micro-filtered milk is purified. The cream is separated and then pasteurised while the milk is filtered through extremely fine membranes which capture bacteria. These components are then mixed together again in varying proportions according to the required result. This process enables some of the milk's flavour to be conserved, however its physico-chemical structure is modified.

Thermised milk is heated to between 40°C and 72°C for 15 seconds in order to destroy certain bacteria which can be pathogenic. The dairy industry uses this method on milk collected across relatively large geographical areas. Variations in flavour and quality are significantly reduced, however, despite the method being less harsh than pasteurisation, the product's character is still partially lost.


Some cheeses to discover ...

 

Farm-produced matured Brillat Savarin

Le Brillat Savarin fermier affiné

Wasabique

Le Wasabique

AOP Traditionally-made Roquefort

Roquefort artisanal de Mr Combes AOP

AOP Farm-produced Brie de Melun

Le Brie de Melun fermier AOP

Fleur de maquis

Fleur de maquis

AOP Farm-produced Reblochon

Le Reblochon AOP

Farm-produced Rond Blond

Le Rond Blond Fermier (Création des frères Marchand)

facebook freres marchand

English

Conseils de maître fromager

“Les différents laits : cru, pasteurisé, micro-filtré.”

générique fromage

Le “cru” est l'élément essentiel de la typicité du fromage et un bon lait constitue la base fondamentale d’un bon fromage.

La fabrication “en cru” se pratique à la ferme ou à l’échelle d’un village, plus en milieu montagnard qu’en plaine pour des raisons évidentes de conditions de circulation et de collecte. Sa transformation doit se faire dans les 12 heures qui suivent la traite. Le lait cru constitue la seule vérité du terroir puisqu’il est constitué de toutes les richesses, les caractéristiques et les goûts des pâturages qu’il transmettra fidèlement au fromage.

Le lait pasteurisé est aujourd’hui très répandu pour des raisons de rentabilité. Le lait est collecté sur des régions entières et stocké dans des cuves réfrigérées à 4° environ. A ce stade déjà, ce refroidissement déséquilibre la flore naturelle au détriment de la flore lactique. Le lait est ensuite chauffé suffisamment (environ 72° pendant 15 secondes) pour détruire l’ensemble de la flore microbienne active mais aussi les flores spécifiques qui apportent au fromage le goût de son terroir. La pasteurisation pratiquée par l’industrie fromagère permet ainsi de prolonger la durée de vie du produit. L’art de l’industrie fromagère consiste donc à redonner vie artificiellement à un lait mort.

Le lait micro-filtré est épuré. La crème est séparée puis pasteurisée, le lait est filtré à travers des membranes très fines qui permettent de retenir les bactéries. Ces éléments à nouveau mélangés en proportion variables selon les besoins, le lait obtenu conserve en partie ses propriétés gustatives mais sa structure physico-chimique est altérée.

Le lait thermisé est chauffé entre 40° et en-dessous de 72° pendant au moins 15 secondes afin de détruire certains germes qui pourraient être pathogènes. Cette technique est appliquée par les industriels sur les laits de provenance géographique assez étendue. Les variations gustatives et qualitatives sont moins importantes et la typicité du produit est en partie perdue bien que la technique soit moins radicale que la pasteurisation.

Quelques fromages affinés à découvrir…

 

La Bonde de gâtine

La Bonde de gâtine

La petite trappe d’Echourgnac des sœurs Trappistines

La petite trappe d’Echourgnac des sœurs Trappistines

Le Brillat Savarin fermier affiné

Le Brillat Savarin fermier affiné

Le St Nectaire fermier grise AOP

Le St Nectaire fermier grise AOP

Le Grand Veilleux

Le Grand Veilleux

Langres AOP fermier

Langres AOP fermier

La Boulette d’Avesnes traditionnelle

La Boulette d’Avesnes traditionnelle