Français

Tips from a Master Cheesemaker

“Tips for choosing cheese”

générique fromage

Buy in season

Cheeses are in fact seasonal produce. It is therefore advisable to enjoy them at recommended times of the year which take account of the duration and complexity of the maturing process to ensure that the cheeses express themselves fully.

Remember:

  • Spring is the time of year when cheeses begin to shine, a period which culminates with the arrival of summer. Herds graze in the pastures allowing the milk to acquire new aromas which makes for cheeses with even more flavour. More than anything this is the season for goat's cheese. Make sure you don't miss it.
  • Summer - cheeses have finished maturing and can be enjoyed at their optimum ripeness. This is the season to taste the best Camembert, the best Saint Nectaire as well as, more generally, all soft-ripened cheeses with washed or bloomy rinds. The summer milk leaves Autumn cheeses with more moderate aromas as the intense summer heat gradually causes the green grass to become drier and impoverished.
  • Autumn brings a second youth to the pastures and restores some of their quality. Blue cheeses thus retain their summer flavours, goat's cheeses gain in strength and soft cheeses are still enjoyable.
  • Winter brings poor weather and excess humidity meaning that there is no fresh grass for the herds which are thus fed on straw or, at worst, silage. Their milk is therefore less rich and has less character and the cheeses it produces are far from their optimum in terms of flavour. One exception is the Vacherin-Mont d'Or which is traditionally produced in the autumn-winter period and which enjoys super quality at this time of year thanks to the originality of its recipe.

Long-keeping or reserve cheeses, that is those which are matured for a long time (Cantal, Laguiole, Salers and others such as Comté, Beaufort and Abondance) offer great flavour all year round, if they have been produced during the spring-summer grazing period. They can be recognised as they are more yellow than those produced in winter.

The Marchand Brothers all around the world

Favour the authentic flavour of raw, unpasteurised milk and accept the variations in character found in traditional cheeses.

For example, a true Camembert can only come from Normandy and, in short, only raw milk genuinely expresses the terroir.


The Marchand Brothers all around the world

Avoid being set in your ways and do away with preconceptions.

Learn to describe what you enjoy in terms of taste and texture rather than in terms of appellation. When buying, tell us when and for what occasion you intend to serve the cheese. Be curious - there is a vast range of flavours to try and endless opportunities to discover something new.


The Marchand Brothers all around the world

Choose quality of flavour over external appearance and don't hesitate to request a tasting.

Don't judge too much on shape or appearance when choosing a cheese. True farm-produced, raw milk cheeses often vary visually. Place your trust in us and don't hesitate to ask us questions or request a tasting - we have selected and matured the cheeses ourselves and will be able to guide you in your choice.


The Marchand Brothers all around the world

Opt for small quantities.

Cheeses, when kept for a long time at home, often in unsuitable conditions, lose their flexibility and suffer a change in flavour. It is therefore usually preferable to buy small quantities. This way, cheeses will remain ripe and you will enjoy them in the best conditions possible.


Give a clear description of what you are looking for and make sure you have been understood.

Whether you are the guest of cheese lovers or it is you doing the inviting, you know all too well that the cheese course is a special and important moment of the meal. That is why it is important to carefully consider the occasion at which the cheese will be served (at home, at a function, during a celebration, etc). Let us know what you are looking for and any constraints you may have and we will be able to help you to make the right choice.

facebook freres marchand

English

Conseils de maître fromager

“Les conseils pour choisir son fromage”

générique fromage

Respectez les saisons

Les fromages sont des produits saisonniers ! Il est donc conseillé de respecter les périodes idéales de consommation, en tenant compte du délai et du travail d’affinage, afin que les fromages expriment pleinement leurs qualités.

Retenez que :

  • Le printemps démarre la période faste du fromage qui atteindra son apogée l’été venu. Les animaux paissent l’herbe des pâturages, le lait bénéficie des arômes nouveaux qui vont enrichir les fromages. C’est surtout la saison des chèvres. Ne les manquez surtout pas !
  • L’été, leur affinage terminé, les fromages arrivent sur les étals à pleine maturité. C’est la saison pour savourer les meilleurs camembert, les meilleurs Saint-Nectaire et plus généralement toutes les pâtes molles, à croûtes lavées et fleuries. Le lait d’été va léguer à l’automne des parfums plus édulcorés car la grosses chaleurs estivales vont progressivement appauvrir et dessécher l’herbe verte.
  • L’automne va redonner une seconde jeunesse aux pâturages à la faveur du regain. C’est ainsi que les pâtes persillées conservent leur saveurs de l’été, que les chèvres retrouvent de la force et que les pâtes molles perdurent.
  • L’hiver est synonyme de mauvais temps et d’excès d’humidité, sans herbe fraîche pour les animaux qui sont nourris au foin et au pire à l’ensilage. Leur lait est donc moins riche et moins typé et les fromages fabriqués sont loin de leur optimum gustatif. Une exception, le Vacherin-Mont d’or, fabriqué traditionnellement en automne-hiver, dont l’originalité de la recette lui confère une superbe qualité à cette saison.

Les fromages de garde, ceux dont la durée d’affinage est longue (Cantal, Laguiole, Salers et autres Comté, Beaufort et Abondance) sont savoureux toute l’année, s’ils ont été produits durant la période de pâturage (printemps et été). Leurs pâtes sont plus jaunes que ceux produits en hiver.

Les Frères Marchand de part le monde

Préférez l’authenticité du lait cru et acceptez le caractère irrégulier propre aux fromages de tradition.

Pour exemple, le vrai Camembert ne peut venir que de Normandie et en un mot, le lait cru est la seule “vérité” du terroir.


Les Frères Marchand de part le monde

Ne vous cantonnez pas à vos habitudes et n’ayez pas d’idées préconçues.

Sachez exprimer plutôt votre souhait en termes de goût et de texture qu’en termes d’appellation. Indiquez-nous le jour et l’occasion où va être dégusté le fromage. La palette des goûts est immense, les opportunités de découvertes fréquentes, cultivez votre curiosité !


Les Frères Marchand de part le monde

Privilégiez la qualité du goût à l’aspect extérieur et n’hésitez pas à goûter.

Ne vous fiez pas trop à la forme ou à l’aspect du fromage que vous pourrez voir sur l’étal. Un vrai fromage fermier au lait cru est souvent irrégulier. Faites-nous confiance, n’hésitez pas à nous questionner, demandez à goûter, nous l’avons sélectionné et nous avons affiné ses qualités.


Les Frères Marchand de part le monde

Privilégiez les petites quantités

Un fromage conservé longtemps chez soi, dans des conditions souvent mal adaptées, perd sa souplesse et voit son goût se modifier. Il est préférable d’acheter plus souvent et en petites quantités. Les fromages seront toujours à point et vous pourrez en profiter dans les conditions optimales de dégustation.


Définissez bien votre demande et assurez-vous qu’elle est comprise.

Si vous êtes invité ou si vous invitez des amateurs de fromages, vous savez que le moment du fromage est un moment privilégié et important du repas. C’est pourquoi vous devez être attentif à l’occasion pour laquelle le fromage sera dégusté (auto-consommation, réceptions, fêtes, etc.). Faites-nous part de vos souhaits et contraintes, nous saurons répondre avec justesse.