Français

Our cheeses

From AOC cheeses to the cheesemaking industry

générique fromage

The AOC classification (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée)

Cheeses bearing the AOC mark:

  • have a guaranteed geographical origin;
  • can be identified to a specific terroir;
  • are produced in compliance with strict, detailed and demanding specifications.

Contrary to some beliefs, the AOC mark does not guarantee that a cheese has been made from raw, unpasteurised milk. Specifications are partly formulated by each appellation's own professional association (made up of milk farmers, producers and maturing experts) and are “negotiated” to ensure “local, fair and constant practices”. However, when financial aspects become the predominant concern, the risk of a shift away from these standards can arise which inevitably impacts the cheese's quality (eg. the granting of permission to pasteurise milk before production, the extension of the milk collection perimeter, or the virtual elimination of the maturing process). Nevertheless the AOC label, if not the best, remains a useful reference at the least.

It should be noted that under measures to harmonise European designations of geographical origin, the (Appellation d'Origine Protégée) label came into effect from 01 May 2009 and will shortly replace the French AOC where not already the case.
Thus, all EU countries will use the same label for products with designation of origin, which will help the consumer to identify them.

Fromage fermier (farm-produced cheeses)

Farm-produced cheeses

Farm-produced cheeses are made from milk which has been processed at the farm on which it was produced. The milk is always processed within 24 hours of milking. The shorter the period between milking and processing, the greater the chance is of obtaining a high quality cheese. Milk from morning milking may be mixed with that from the evening, which is more mature due to the development of lactic flora. This gives the cheese the best possible depth of flavour.

Farm-produced cheeses are variable in both appearance and taste. Indeed these cheeses are the genuine product of nature, which is in itself variable. Nature's forces cannot be tamed which explains why farm-produced cheeses embody the distinctive character of the terroir so well. When ripe, these cheeses develop a powerful flavour which are the genuine expression of the terroir and the savoir-faire used to produce them.

Fromage fermier (farm-produced cheeses)

Fromage artisanal (traditionally-made cheeses)

Cheeses bear the "artisanal" label when they are made from the milk of several farms in a close area, for example, from within the same village or a group of neighbouring villages. These cheeses are also made from raw, unpasteurised milk, the appearance and flavour of which varies less. Small businesses, rather than sole farmers are responsible for the production of the cheese which is generally of high and constant quality with a distinctive character.

Fromage de l’industrie laitière (cheeses manufactured by the dairy industry)

This final category of cheese is the most common. It comprises products which are made mostly from pasteurised milk, the shapes and names of which are frequently changed to meet the requirements of modern retail marketing. The taste of these cheeses is harmonised at the expense of character and flavour, however they keep longer and can be sold at the pre-cut counter as they withstand advance preparation better than traditionally made cheeses.

facebook freres marchand

English

Nos fromages

“De l’AOC à l’industrie fromagère”

générique fromage

L’AOC, Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée

Un fromage portant l’inscription AOC garantit :

  • sa provenance géographique ;
  • son identification à un terroir précis ;
  • sa fabrication réalisée dans le respect d’un strict cahier des charges, précis et rigoureux.

Contrairement à certaines idées reçue, l’AOC n’est pas une garantie de production au lait cru. Le cahier des charges est en partie élaboré par les syndicats de défense de chacune des appellations (regroupant éleveurs, fabricants, affineurs) et il est “négocié” pour garantir les “usages locaux, loyaux et constants”. Cependant, quand l’enjeu économique devient prédominant, des risques de dérive peuvent apparaître qui affectent inéluctablement la qualité, (exemples : autorisation de pasteuriser le lait avant fabrication, extension du rayon de collecte du lait ou bien affinage plus ou moins “escamotés”). L’indication AOC reste toutefois, sinon le meilleur, pour le moins un repère intéressant.

Attention, dans le cadre d’une harmonisation des appellations d’origine européennes, le logo AOP devient obligatoire à partir du 1er mai 2009. Il remplacera le logo français AOC.
Ainsi, toutes les appellations d’origine des pays membres arboreront le même logo, ce qui facilitera leur identification par le consommateur.

fromage fermier

Fromage fermier

Le fromage est “fermier” s’il est issu de la transformation du lait de sa propre exploitation et sur sa propre exploitation. Cette transformation est toujours entreprise moins de 24 heures après la traite. Plus le délai entre la traite et la transformation est court, plus grande sera la chance d’avoir un fromage de très bonne qualité. Le lait du matin peut être mélangé au lait du soir, plus mûr en raison du développement de la flore lactique qui apportera au fromage le maximum de richesse gustative.

Le fromage fermier est un fromage fluctuant, tant dans son aspect que dans son goût. Il est en effet l’enfant légitime de la nature, elle-même changeante. Elle ne s’apprivoise pas et c’est pourquoi les fromages fermiers représentent parfaitement la typicité de leurs terroirs. En saison, ces fromages développent un goût puissant, parfaite expression du terroir et d’un savoir-faire.

fromage fermier

Fromage artisanal

Le fromage est “artisanal” quand il résulte de la transformation du lait de plusieurs fermes d’un environnement proche, de la même commune ou des communes limitrophes. Il s’agit encore d’un fromage au lait cru, de saison, plus régulier dans sa forme et dans son goût. Ce sont des petites entreprises, et non plus des paysans isolés, qui fabriquent un fromage généralement typé, de bonne qualité et régulier.

Fromage de l’industrie laitière

Cette dernière catégorie de fromages est la plus communément répandue. Il s’agit de produits réalisés en majorité à base de lait pasteurisé, dont on change souvent la forme et le nom pour répondre aux exigences du marketing moderne pour la grande distribution. Au goût standardisé, invariablement réguliers au détriment de leur personnalité et de leurs propriétés gustatives, ils se conservent plus longtemps et supportent mieux le pré-découpage proposé dans les rayons frais emballés.